I don’t think I like Chrono Trigger.

I’m one of those people.

Elmo's Universe
5 min readFeb 18, 2020

THE MODERN HIDALGO: Entry_084.
Written: Tuesday. February 18, 2020.

So I didn’t go to my friend Kurt today cause his mother’s birthday was today. I spent a bad amount of today just prepping for our writing session(meaning, I slept through most of the day). I could’ve done a lot of things, but that’s also a lie. I’ve been having a hard time waking up lately, and a hard time sleeping at night. I sleep at 2 am, and wake up at about 10 am, and my body demands more sleep from me by 1 pm onward.

I think it’s my appendix. A friend of mine from high school had the same problem. He was sleepy all the time, which turns out that his appendix wasn’t working properly anymore. But then again, the appendix doesn’t do anything for the body but cause it trouble. So that’s one factor that might be the reason as to why I’m feeling sleepy all the time.

That, or the lack of stamina that I have from not working out these days. I used to have so much energy while I was still working out. I guess because of having too much of that energy — it lead me to reduce working out. Cause I didn’t know what to do with that amount of stamina. I end up spending it on jolly breaks and staying up at night.

So either way, stamina or no stamina, I’m doomed not to get proper sleep at night.

I’m not sure if I’m gonna buy the next Discworld novels after Color of Magic. It’s pretty hard to read, cause most of the time I don’t know what’s going on inside Pratchett’s mind. It’s exhausting to read the book even though I’m only reading little of it every 30 minute sessions.

It’s not even a thick book(I’m looking at it right now since it’s literally right beside me). I’ll probably end up finishing this one within the next 2 weeks, give or take.

Games. Let’s talk games. I’ve been playing Chrono Trigger — still. I installed Project 64 again, which I shouldn’t have since I already had one lying around on my laptop. I used to play Legend of Zelda Ocarina of Time on this laptop of mine back when I first got this from my uncle. This thing’s been with me for almost 2 years. And it’s starting to show it’s cracks and chinks in the brass armor.

Mostly on the screen, though. Not so much on the software. This thing can do almost anything, twice as fast from when it was first given to me. It’s days are numbered, I just don’t know the estimate to that claim.

Back to games: Super Mario 64. I dunno. I haven’t played the game in a while and wanted to see if it was still fun to play. And it still is. I dunno if I’ve actually completed this game, though. I’ve always just stopped playing it once I got bored with it. Unlike in Ocarina of Time, once I finish the game’s story line, I quit it immediately. In Super Mario 64, I forget that I’m playing it, and head off to the next game.

I shouldn’t really be playing 2 games at once. It overwhelms me too much, which also leads to me dumping a few games and switching to other games. And the cycle continues for those games. But I can’t help me self. I wish that I could.

I want to finish Chrono Trigger to its fullest, cause I know that it’s one of the games that I haven’t really dove into as much as I should. It’s one of the greatest games of all time… so people say. That’s why I should at least try to figure out why that is. Although, I’m noticing that the gameplay is too easy. I could beat monsters real quick on the game, which isn’t giving much of a thrill to play. The story isn’t that cool to me. Maybe because I’ve seen too much of time travel stuff in movies or tv shows or books. Seeing it in a game didn’t really land a shocking factor for me.

Which begs the question: if I had played this when I was younger, would I have loved this game for its time travel shenanigans?

I woke up early today — or I was forced to, since my brother decided to watch something on his phone at full volume. I had to get out of bed, cause if I hadn’t, my brain would hurt once I woke up. So I went down and opened up our desktop computer.

I don’t ever know what to do with that thing anymore. I rarely use it nowadays. This laptop of mine is my go-to computer. This and my phone, of course. But my desktop… I black out when it opens. I’m sitting there, but nothing is being thought of by my brain.

“What should I do today?…

*45 minutes of scrolling through social media later.*

“…Fuck.”

That’s basically what happens to me when I open up that desktop. But not awhile ago. I decided to read up some Hellboy comics on the inter-webs. It was…surreal. I don’t do it often, so I don’t know if I’m hooked. But throughout the day, I was able to finish reading the first issue of the first Hellboy comic serial — if that’s what they call it, I dunno.

It’s only fitting that I read from Hellboy, first. The first book that I read and bought(my mom bought it for me, correction) was Hellboy: On Earth as it is in Hell.

It’s also symbolic, in a sense. Hellboy is connected to the element of fire. And Fire is the symbol of beginnings. “Sparking the flame to a new generation” as they say in the olden book archives of mankind’s history.

Fire was what brought us to where we are today, honestly. It’s the beginning, and the end…cause the Sun will burn the Earth in a few more centuries.

But we don’t have to worry about that, cause we won’t reach that long.

--

--